« Anchored In Hope

Hope College Soccer Update

by Carolyn Binder


Flying Dutchmen Ranked In National Soccer Polls

The Hope men’s soccer team has ended the 2013 season ranked among the nation’s elite.

Coach Steven Smith’s Flying Dutchmen finished 23rd in the final National Soccer Coaches Association of America/Continental Tire NCAA Division III poll announced this week.

Hope also made honorable mention in the final d3soccer.com poll. The Flying Dutchmen placed 30th in the d3soccer.com rankings with 30 points.

Hope posted a 17-5-2 overall record during the 2013 season, matching the school record for wins in a single season.

The Flying Dutchmen reached the second round of the Division III Tournament. It was their 11th NCAA Tournament appearance under Smith.

Hope also won the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) Tournament during the 2013 season after finishing second during the regular season.



Flying Dutch Hand Out Team Awards

The Hope women’s soccer team has handed out its team awards for the 2013 season, and six members of the Flying Dutch have been honored.

Junior forward Nora Kirk of Maumee, Ohio, (Notre Dame Academy) has been selected Team MVP. Kirk topped Hope with 63 shots and finished third in scoring with six goals and four assists.

Hope’s Offensive MVP is senior forward Raisa Yewah of East Lansing (Okemos HS), while its Defensive MVP is junior defender Maria DeShaw of Holland (West Ottawa HS).

The Flying Dutch’s Rookie of the Year is freshman defender Jessica Lockwood of Kentwood (Grand Rapids South Christian HS).

Hope’s Most Inspirational Player is senior midfielder Courtney Laux of Novi (Novi HS).

The Flying Dutch’s Most Improved Player is sophomore midfielder Kristin Hazlett of Bay Village, Ohio (Bay HS).

Hope, coached by Leigh Sears, finished the 2013 season with a 16-4-1 record, matching the 2005 team for the school record for single-season wins.

The Flying Dutch had a 12-4-1 mark in Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) play. The Flying Dutch advanced to the championship match of the MIAA Tournament.