« Anchored In Hope

Hope College Friday Roundup

by Carolyn Binder


Flying Dutchmen Fall to 13th-ranked Wheaton 

The Hope men’s basketball team lost to nationally ranked Wheaton, Ill., 80-61 on Friday in the first game of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association/College Conference of Illinois-Wisconsin Challenge.

The Flying Dutchmen complete the weekend tournament at Calvin at 1 p.m. Saturday when they play Carthage, Wis. Carthage (4-2) beat Calvin 74-68 in Friday’s second game.

Junior guard Corey McMahon of Glenview, Ill. (Glenbrook South HS) topped Hope with 14 points off the bench. He shot 6-of-8 from the field, including 2-of-3 from 3-point range.

Senior center Nate VanArendonk of Grand Haven (Grand Haven HS) and sophomore center Brock Benson of Willowbrook, Ill. (Hinsdale South HS) each chipped 10 points apiece for the Flying Dutchmen.

Hope fell to 1-4 overall as it lost to a nationally ranked foe for the third time this season.

The Flying Dutchmen are now 9-10 all-time in MIAA/CCIW Challenge play.

No. 13 Wheaton received a game-high 20 points from senior guard Tyler Peters. He had 18 in the second half as the Thunder finished shooting 65.1 percent for the game (28-of-43).

The Flying Dutchmen struggled to 45.1 percent (23-of-51) and shot as many free throws as Wheaton (27 attempts to 14).

“To them be the credit. They were very, very good tonight,” Hope coach Matt Neil said of the Thunder. “I think we can be a lot sharper in every facet of the game, and I think we will be.

“Tonight, they missed six second-half shots and it had a large part to do was they were getting a lot of wide-open looks and layups. … They were able to get virtually anything they wanted just because I think our intensity level on the defensive side was very inconsistent. We’ve got to play better together.”


Flying Dutch Fourth At Wheaton Invitational

The Hope men’s swimming team is fourth after Friday’s opening day of the Wheaton Invitational.

Washington-St. Louis tops the five-team field with 565.5 points, leading Wheaton (390), Wisconsin-Whitewater (278.5), Hope (235) and Wisconsin-Stevens Point (233).

The meet concludes today.

Hope’s best performance came in the 800-yard freestyle relay where sophomore Duncan MacLean of Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids HS), junior Christopher Waechter of Ventura Hills, Calif. (Foothill Technology), freshman Zach Diener of Lake Orion (Lake Orion HS) and senior Jake Hunt of Muskegon (Mona Shores HS) clocked a second-place time of 6 minutes, 57.75 seconds.

Jeff Zita of Holland (Holland Christian HS) led the Flying Dutchmen individually by placing third in the 100 breaststroke in 58.15.


Flying Dutch Fourth At Wheaton Invitational

The Hope women’s swimming team is fourth after Friday’s opening day of the Wheaton Invitational.

The Flying Dutch have 291 points. Washington-St. Louis leads with 541 points, while Wheaton (321) is second, Wisconsin-Stevens Point (318) third and Wisconsin-Whitewater (26) fourth.

The meet concludes today.

Sophomore Klare Northuis of Holland (Holland HS) took fourth in the 100-yard freestyle with a swim of 53.7 seconds.

Sophomore Jorgie Watson of Grand Rapids (Catholic Central HS) placed fourth in the 100 breaststroke in 1:06.73.

Hope took fourth in the 800 freestyle relay as junior Luisa Burgess of Pittsburgh, Pa. (Taylor Alderice HS), sophomore Hannah Larson of Jackson (Jackson HS), sophomore Lindsay Wiederhold of Plainwell (Plainwell HS) and Northuis went 7:56.77.


Flying Dutchmen Skate To 10th Consecutive Win

Goals from six different players powered the Hope ice hockey team to a 6-1 win vs. Farmingdale State Friday night in American Collegiate Hockey Association action at Edge Ice Arena.

Junior forward Drew O’Brien of East Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids HS) and senior defenseman Caleb Digison of Midland (Midland HS) each recorded a goal and two assists for the Flying Dutchmen, who enter the Christmas break with a 14-2 record.

Hope has won 10 consecutive games.

Goalie Drew Cook of Columbus, Ohio (Upper Arlington HS), made 25 saves for the Flying Dutchmen.


1.  Justin Glick from Elliott Digison and Eric Webb

2.  Rob Calvert from Caleb Digison

3.  Andrew Dolehanty from Kyle Wollet and Drew O'Brien

4.  Caleb Digison from Ryan Restum and Elliott Digison

5.  Ryan Restum from Caleb Digison and Drew O"Brien

6.  Drew O'Brien from Elliott Digison